Committee for Women in in Mathematics (WM)², the World Meeting for Women in Mathematics, is organized every four years since 2018 by IMU’s CWM as a satellite event of ICM.

OAL Prize Winner

The inaugural Ladyzhenskaya Prize in Mathematical Physics (OAL Prize) is awarded to Professor Svetlana Jitomirskaya “for her seminal and deep contributions to the spectral theory of almost periodic Schrödinger operators”. The prize, named in honor of the influential mathematician Olga Alexandrovna Ladyzhenskaya (1922-2004), is established in 2022 to mark 100 years from Ladyzhenskaya’s birth. There is no restriction of age or gender associated with the prize; in particular, it can be awarded to men as well as to women.

OAL Celebration

Olga Alexandrovna Ladyzhenskaya (1922-2004) occupies a very special place in the history of mathematics and mathematical physics worldwide. Her theorems shaped the modern theory of Partial Differential Equations of mathematical physics. Through her lectures, seminars, and students, she inspired extraordinary advances in many other branches of mathematical physics, including Quantum Field Theory and Statistical Physics.

Subscribe to